Creek County Democrats Announce 2017 Scholarship Winners

The Creek County Democrats are delighted to announce the winners of the Creek County Democratic Party Scholarships for 2017.  Hannah Idlett of Drumright High School and Ira Hurst, who attends Bristow High, are this year’s winners.  Each will be awarded $1000.00.

Ira Hurst

Scholarship Committee members Mary West and Jane Johnson of Sapulpa, and Denise Ashley and Anita Pickett of Bristow were very pleased with the high quality of applicants.  “These people are all deserving,”  said Ms. West.  “I wish we could help more of them.”  Ms. Johnson remarked, “I am just amazed at how accomplished these kids are.  They excel academically, play sports, are active in their churches and communities, and still have time to hold down jobs!”

Hannah Idlett

The Creek County Democrats have been awarding scholarships annually since 2013.  The scholarship funds may be used at any accredited institution, including trade schools, colleges, and universities.  “This is a way to give back to the community,” Johnson said.  “Many of our local members are teachers, and all of us are vested in helping our young people succeed.  And an educated, informed electorate benefits us all.”

The winners and their parents will be guests of honor at the next meeting of the Creek County Democrats, 6:00 p.m. April 20 at Freddie’s in Sapulpa.